New to predator hunting and rifles

Wolf, Coyote, Fox, Cats, Callings, Behaviors, Hunting Stories, Pictures, Tactics, Q&A.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

hunter10
500 Club

New to predator hunting and rifles

Unread postby hunter10 » Sun Feb 05, 2017 1:36 pm

First time being on this section of the forum but lately we have had yotes up near the house so I picked up a new savage model 11 .223 and have no clue how to sight it in properly. I'd like to reach out far on the yotes. What do I zero the gun in at? Etc. I'm not into military precise shooting I just want to put them down when I pull the trigger. I will be buying cheaper ammo and I'm new to this type of shooting, all I have ever sighted in is my muzzloader at 100yds Thanks in advance

checkerfred
500 Club

Re: New to predator hunting and rifles

Unread postby checkerfred » Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:29 pm

If it's a new rifle I boresight mine first if it's not already. You can do this with a target on the wall, remove the bolt, prop the gun up on a table or something and then look down the bore. Center the target with the bore, then adjust the scope to match

Then I take it to the range and zero it in at 25 yards. Then I move out to 100 yards. It will likely be 2-4 inches high if done right. From there further adjustment depends on your range and shooting ability.

If you're new to shooting which it sounds like you are, practice practice practice. 200 yards is a long shot on a small animal like a yote. Definitely use shooting sticks or a bipod or some kind of steady platform when hunting them.

Please don't shoot outside your abilities. Even though they are considered nuisance animals and they kill fawns etc, we owe it to the animal we hunt to kill it as quick as possible.