Calling song dogs

Wolf, Coyote, Fox, Cats, Callings, Behaviors, Hunting Stories, Pictures, Tactics, Q&A.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

may21581
500 Club

Calling song dogs

Unread postby may21581 » Wed Jan 22, 2020 12:32 pm

I'm new to predator hunting. Been looking to fill the gap between deer season, shed hunting and scouting. I've been out a few times already. I mostly hunt at last light. I do what everyone says and hit the rabbit distress call first thing. I wait and nothing. Hit it again and nothing. So on a lot of these sits I will play a yip/howl sequence on my foxpro and the woods light up with coyotes responding. They will not respond to a male or female howl only this yipping gets a response. I do not see them but can hear them. Suggestions, thoughts, insight? Need some help getting on them. Thanks

"Failure is the price for entry for achieving something great"
brkissl82
500 Club

Re: Calling song dogs

Unread postby brkissl82 » Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:09 pm

Following this one
Kokes
500 Club

Unread postby Kokes » Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:57 pm

Most tend to overcall... this is the call sequence I've had the most consistent luck with

2 mins rabbit or bird distress followed by 5 mins silence (two or three times)
Then play female long howl for 1 min and wait 5 mins (do this once or twice)
The play female challenge barks..wait 5 mins then play coyote pup in distress..

This is the scenario you're playing to the coyote in the woodlot you're trying to kill .I'm a new coyote in town and eating your lunch...then you're picking a fight with a member of its pack..then you attack one of it's own.. they cant resist.

If this dont work mix it up but always play a scenario that's believable.. for example.. you could let out a few lone howls right before dark and call one out(coyote is curious to see who is in his area)..or you can do a lone howl then few mins later a fox in distress (the coyote will think one of his friends is fighting a fox and come out, etc)