elk and thermal tunnels

Elk, Moose, Pronghorn, African Game, ect. Behaviors, Hunting Stories, Pictures, Tactics, Q&A.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

tbunao
500 Club

elk and thermal tunnels

Unread postby tbunao » Mon Jul 20, 2015 2:13 am

Myself and a fellow beast member are going on an DIY elk hunt in just 60 day's but who's counting. The both of us are whitetail hunters and avid beast followers. I know elk use thermals kind of like the way that deer do but I was wondering if anyone thinks that they bed at say the 1/3 from the top of ridges much like deer do. Or is the terrain to much for those factors.

BassBoysLLP
500 Club

Re: elk and thermal tunnels

Unread postby BassBoysLLP » Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:39 am

I'm no expert elk hunter, but I doubt you'll see the upper 1/3 rule of thumb apply. The upper third can be above the tree line! Traveling to the leeward side of the mountain can be quite the endeavor. You can probably find cases, but I expect them to relatively rare.

Rather than rely on rules of thumb, its more important that you understand and appreciate what is going on with the thermals throughout the day. Study how the wind and thermals are interacting with the terrain and water and adjust accordingly. The same can be said about your efforts to chase whitetails.

Good luck!
hunter_mike

Unread postby hunter_mike » Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:43 am

“The master has failed more times than the beginner has even tried.”
fishlips
500 Club

Unread postby fishlips » Mon Jul 20, 2015 6:37 am

I have only hunted colorado in what I would consider steep terrain. I didnt have many elk encounters but the scale of the terrain is so much more than what I am used to in wisconsin. Where I was hunting I couldnt sense a thermal tunnel and if there was one I didnt notice the elk using it.