I found fresh sign and didn't hunt it

This forum section is for the select few who believe in hard work and refuse to “Buy” success.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

MaineVanes

I found fresh sign and didn't hunt it

Unread postby MaineVanes » Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:56 am

Hi guys Im a new Beast student and I greatly appreciate everyones willingness to share their knowledge. My question is, I went in blind after doing some cyber scouting and found great fresh sign. I found what looks to be a fresh line of large rubs near a bunch of fallen acorns ( I live in Maine so theres a lot of red oaks) that led to a decent sized scrape which had a number of trails leading to it. I continued to fallow the a decently worn in trail to an area that I was assuming is a bedding area from cyber scouting. Unfortunately i walked though all the sign on my way to what I thought was the bedding area to find not a single climbable tree to climb ( Im using a climber which im going to change my set up for next year). I didnt want to move backwards so I continued on hoping to find a better area to set up with a more obvious bedding exit. Once again I unfortunately didnt find it and didnt want to move backward so I moved out of there area to not do anymore damage to the area. In hind sight I had a lot of things to working for me such as I had a good cross wind, cold front, it just stopped raining, and moon phase. Im still angry with myself that I just didnt stay and hunt from the ground. Regardless how do I move forward? How long should I wait before I go back in? I live in southern Maine which sees fairly high pressure due to the fact you can hunt anywhere that is not posted.

tgreeno
500 Club

Re: I found fresh sign and didn't hunt it

Unread postby tgreeno » Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:35 am

Hunt hot sign, while it's hot. I'd give it another go if you think your last access was clean.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------