Bowls and points bucks and does

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Rob loper
500 Club
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/heBuckPsych/

Bowls and points bucks and does

Unread postby Rob loper » Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:24 pm

Please consider i am new to bed hunting(beastmode) i love it but marshes?
Is there a difference where does and bucks bed Along transition lines? I
have found multiple beds in a few bowls then check points and find single beds on each side if the point? Almost like a buck has different beds for all sides of points for a particular wind favor?
Where does can bed in bowls in groups and have everyone face different directions
Is there a pattern or tendency here?
Does that make sense?
Thnks guys

UofLbowhunter
500 Club

Re: Bowls and points bucks and does

Unread postby UofLbowhunter » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:11 pm

Buy dans dvds, on top of that buy marsh bucks first, it does explain marsh hunting but as dan would say, it explain bedding the best. They are all worth there wieght in gold!

Now to try to awnser your question. Mature bucks will always have the best spot no matter what type of terrian your hunting.
Points- bucks bed mostly on or near point ends with wind to back. Most of the time the wind will blow down the point or somewhat down the point. Now here’s a exception, if there are some trees or small humps of dry ground at the end of the point the buck will more than likely bed futher out off the point in the marsh, bedding in those case can be more nonwind base beds but not always.
Bowls - can be somewhat tricky to pin down wind direction for the beds, cause they can be more non wind base beds. They can come or leave from more than one direction, unlike points with one way dry land entrance.