An attempt at cyber scouting a marsh

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

crackehelmet

An attempt at cyber scouting a marsh

Unread postby crackehelmet » Sun Jan 07, 2018 3:51 pm

I am new to this (I've never set foot in the woods to hunt a deer. Killed my first ducks this year.). I've been watching a ton of hunting beast and DIY sportsman on youtube and I've ordered the Marsh, Swamp and Hill country DvD's. I've Decided to start with Marshlands and I've found a piece of land that I think is interesting and would love to hear thoughts on my beginning assessment of it.

The area is small. 435 yards North to South and 170 yards east to west. I believe that due to its size the area is being overlooked for Deer. I believe Deer live in this mash due to the trails in the cattails linking the islands and the fields to the west.

The September prevailing wind for this area is SSE.

The yellow border around the marsh is the limit of public ground.

I've marked in red the transitions and features that I think I should check for beds given a SSE wind.

Boogieman1
500 Club

Re: An attempt at cyber scouting a marsh

Unread postby Boogieman1 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:31 pm

I just noticed your the guy who just got his first bow! Looks like u got the fire in your belly and going all in... Good stuff I'm not a cyber scouter but if I could offer u any advice starting off it would be to set REALISTIC goals for yourself. You can read and watch all the videos u want, which is good, smart and will shave huge amounts of time off the learning curve. But there is somethings u are gonna fail miserably at, don't get down just learn from em and press on. Good luck, look forward to following your journey.
Life is hard; It’s even harder if you are stupid.
-John Wayne-
Jonny
500 Club

Unread postby Jonny » Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm