Scouting frustrations, my struggle getting away, learning everyday

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Swedishbowhunter
500 Club
Location: South East Wisconsin hunts SE,SW, & Northcentral wi

Scouting frustrations, my struggle getting away, learning everyday

Unread postby Swedishbowhunter » Wed Mar 25, 2020 3:49 am

I have been breaking down a hunk of public (3000 acres) for the last 3 years. The 1st year I just tried to find the bedding farthest from any access and seemed to get away from people. Last year I pinned down specific buck beds with a plan to access and hunt them, only to sneak in when conditions were favorable to find someone had put up an illegal stand with a camera in front of it on a scrape about 100 yards from where I planned to hunt. I tried it that night anyway but only saw some small bucks. Yesterday I checked this spot only to find there was zero sign in this location. Could of this went cold due to this guy intruding over and over or could it just be due to logging going on nearby? So last year I found that if I hike in and then crossed some wet boot high water I was back in the game, but I was just out of range a little bit, I had encounters with some mature bucks but they were either just out of range or coming past right after shooting hours. So i hit the online scouting and found some likely bedding, yesterday I scouted where the older bucks had come from and found some definite bedding and likely kill set ups, but I also found an easier way to access this spot(also found footprints on this access) and also found where another hunter had made a set up (trimmed some branches for shooting). If they are accessing this spot from the easier way they would likely be bumping the buck before getting to their spot, would you give up on this spot or just hunt it the way I had planned? Perhaps this buck knows everytime this guy hunts and it would give him a false sense of security an