Attempting to find buck bedding on hill country

Post topo’s and Aerial photos for free advice. Food plotting, land manipulation, water holes, ect.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Alexw241105
Facebook: Alex Welch

Attempting to find buck bedding on hill country

Unread postby Alexw241105 » Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:07 am

How's everyone's scouting going so far this year? I've walked one of the properties that I have permission to hunt and found a few buck beds (it's much easier to do now since I've been reading up on some of the post on here, plus religiously watching Dans videos,along with his dvds.). I'm heading down to Athens, Ohio to scout as well as clear trails for memorial weekend where we're having our family reunion this year. I could always find doe bedding there but I'm new to reading maps and I have a few spots in mind to go check out but if I can get help or other suggestions it'll help out.

gravebeforeshave80

Re: Attempting to find buck bedding on hill country

Unread postby gravebeforeshave80 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:34 am

IM IN THE SAME SITIUATION AS YOU....IN TUSCARAWAS CO....RUGGED HUNTING FOR A FLAT LAND GUY LKE MYSELF
Terry Urban Jr
NW OHIO
dan
Site Owner
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HuntingBeast/?ref=bookmarks

Unread postby dan » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:17 am

Must of missed this when you posted it... I would be concentrating on the leeward side. Whoever made the map was kind enough to put a shadow to give the impression of hills on those exact areas I would scout. Look at the top 1/3 of the shadowed (on the map you posted) ridges
Tennhunter3
500 Club

Unread postby Tennhunter3 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:14 pm

Im not a expert but from the areas of hill country i have scouted.

As far as ridges go.

Buck bedding can change slightly depending on the area. The great thing is once you find the height the bucks bed at in your area the rest of the beds in that area will be on that elevation.