New to the Beast and looking for insights to help speed the learning curve

Post topo’s and Aerial photos for free advice. Food plotting, land manipulation, water holes, ect.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

lottig

New to the Beast and looking for insights to help speed the learning curve

Unread postby lottig » Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:06 pm

Hi Folks- I'm new to the Beast and looking for some insights from this group on hunting and locating bedding areas on a couple of pieces of land that my brother and I hunt in western Wisconsin. I've been hunting since I was 12, shot a lot of does, a few bucks, and over the last several years taken up bow hunting seriously and have really begun to make a concerted effort to hunt mature deer. My brother and I hunt a couple pieces of land in western Wisconsin. We primarily bow hunt and then do a little bit of muzzle loader hunting at the end of Wisconsin's season. Once my boys get to be old enough to start hunting, we will probably do a bit more gun hunting again. We have been hunting the two properties here for several years and taken a few good deer (3.5-5.5 yr olds) off the property. In the past, we have basically done the classic scouting for pinch points and known travel corridors, which has obviously lead to some success. We know from trail cameras that there are some really big/old deer on the property but many of them we have never seen in daylight. Prior to getting clued into this community, my brother and I both decided to add mobile setups to our for next season and since then I've been reading and listening to as much as I can from this group. I thought that getting some early comments/thoughts on the property we hunt right now might help speed up the learning process and help jump start our post season scouting and plans for next year.