Lightly Hunted Permanent vs Mobile Stands

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Twenty Up
500 Club

Lightly Hunted Permanent vs Mobile Stands

Unread postby Twenty Up » Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:36 pm

This seems to be more of a grey area regarding Permanent vs. Mobile hunting and I would like to hear some input from you seasoned beast hunters.

First off, I'm a college student on a budget which restricts what gear I'm able to utilize. With that being said I can manage to buy a nice handheld GPS to further my scouting and find buck beds quicker, or I can go ahead and purchase a lightly used LW for roughly the same cost.

Now to my question:

Would setting 2 permanent stands on public land (legal here) and hunting them 2-3x per season alert the deer? Would setting the stand itself and not hunting it for a month change their travel patterns completely?

Trust the Process~~ Lost Boys Outdoors ~~

YoutTube: https://youtube.com/channel/UC7TXknGut5WfZQ6CbddgqYg
SRWbowhunter

Re: Lightly Hunted Permanent vs Mobile Stands

Unread postby SRWbowhunter » Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:44 pm

If your only going to get to hunt a total of around 6 times all season (2-3) per stand I think I would just put up permanent stands. If you get them up early like in the next couple months I don't think that would hurt your hunting at all. And if you've got very limited time being in college this might be better anyway because you don't have have to bring everything and set it up each time. Just how I would probably do it

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
cbigbear
Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/mobilehuntinggear/

Unread postby cbigbear » Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:51 pm

If you have a smartphone get a GPS app $5-$10 & a used LW.

Bucky

Unread postby Bucky » Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:59 pm

100% LW or climber.... keep moving

[ Post made via Android ] Image