First Beast-Style Scout

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

blueKYstream

First Beast-Style Scout

Unread postby blueKYstream » Mon Sep 07, 2015 6:12 pm

I've been hunting the same private land for the last 15-20 years with my dad and brother and maybe 1-3 others at any given time. One of us might have success each year, but I really thought we could do better. I began hunting hard about 5 years ago. Since then I learned a lot, but I haven't reached that point I feel I have put everything together. I hunt over 440 acres. This is an overview of the property. I enjoy when others post maps, so I can practice reading maps. I'm hoping some others can chime in and offer suggestions, tips or confirmation.

To the N and NE is a large lake. The picture doesn't show it well, but the NE is a peninsula that juts into the lake. The map below has the property boundary in red, rut travel routes I've picked up on over the years in green, possible bedding areas that I wanted to scout based on my review of the map in blue, and the areas from my review of the map that I was able to scout in purple.

My beast style scouting revealed the first deer beds I've ever found or taken note of. I was excited when I saw them even though they were only doe beds! The first was in the far SW corner and it was 3 beds close together (pics 1-3 below) where one creek fed into another. The surrounding area was super thick with fallen trees, brush and forest. I almost turned back, but I convinced myself to keep going. The next bed at the W of the map (pic 4 below) was up against a fence line with a tree to the deer's back, a fallen tree to the side where a small tornado came through, and overgrown CRP fields below and to one side. It's something I'll be checking at times with a set of binoculars. It looks like it hasn't been used in a while though.