Too many beds?

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

JakeB
500 Club

Too many beds?

Unread postby JakeB » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:36 pm

Sorry for the long read but I want to put as much information out there as I can without posting a map on a public forum.

I have this spot close to my house I've been messing with on and off for a few years now with several big Buck encounters.

The best way for me to describe it would be like the red brush bog in the swamp bedding DVD where they have beds basically everywhere. Except this isn't a small chunk I can setup on the outskirts of, it's miles of swamp.

This swamp is in LA so it's different species of trees and brush (cypress, button brush, red maples, and willows) but for the most part it looks similar. Knee to waist deep mud with humps at nearly every willow tree and some humps at the bigger cypresses.

Literally every hump has a worn bed with hair and poop in it. I'm talking like dozens and dozens. It has a descent deer population but scouting it you would sware it's covered in deer!

The problem I'm having is trying to figure out how to hunt it! My access point is down a small straight ditch by boat with a levee on each side but very little deer activity on the levee. Ditch runs E-W and there's also a cleared pipeline running N-S. The area is bordered by the ditch to the north, pipeline to the west that transitions into open cypress swamp for miles, to the south is miles of this dirty mixed brush area and to the east is more nasty swamp with what appears to be a block of hardwoods aprox. 1 mile away on some private.