Need advice on Coyote calling

Wolf, Coyote, Fox, Cats, Callings, Behaviors, Hunting Stories, Pictures, Tactics, Q&A.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

buttonbuck
500 Club

Need advice on Coyote calling

Unread postby buttonbuck » Tue Jan 19, 2021 3:48 am

Got hungry Coyotes I need to eliminate, got a decent wind tomorrow and about a 100 yard shot from a tree stand. Could I just get up in the tree with my screaming rabbit caller and hit it a few times and they just run in?

Tribute80

Re: Need advice on Coyote calling

Unread postby Tribute80 » Wed Jan 20, 2021 2:35 am

Im no expert and have only called a few in. It could work but may not. If it’s an open area I use the rabbit for a bit if that doesn’t work I switch to pup distress. If it’s thick I start quiet with a mouse then work to louder rabbit then quiet for a few minutes then pup distress. If that doesn’t work I move locations to another set up. Coyote hunting seems to be hit and miss in my experience but I also have done all my calling in the south east.

I have had more luck trapping them then calling them.
creepingdeth
500 Club
Facebook: Huh?

Unread postby creepingdeth » Fri Jan 22, 2021 10:09 am

Not quite :lol: ...new coyote guy here, also. Daytime hunting probably requires call/decoy to be put aways out, night tight is ok to be w/caller if you can use lighting legally. Remember, that coyote is looking for that sound or decoy, if you are with it he'll pick you off quickly. Good luck :handgestures-thumbup:
Yesterdays common sense is no longer common
Boogieman1
500 Club

Unread postby Boogieman1 » Sun Feb 07, 2021 5:55 pm

I used to really enjoy coyote hunting. These days I just have to many irons in the fire. But the most effective ways I found to hunt them didn’t require a call.