Is it worth it?

Discussions about learning taxidermy & picking taxidermist.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Randon
Facebook: N/A

Is it worth it?

Unread postby Randon » Tue Dec 03, 2019 4:41 pm

I currently work full time as a firefighter/paramedic and part time as a paramedic on an ambulance and have been involved with emergency services for just over ten years. I love what I do, but it would be nice to have a secondary job that has nothing to do with healthcare or emergency services and is something that I'm not gone from my place on my days off so I thought about taxidermy. My question to those involved in taxidermy is that is it something that is worth getting into to eventually use as a secondary means of income? (Im not expecting to get rich off of it, but a small amount of income would be great.) I would have plenty of time to do it, but I want to make sure it would be a good choice before I invest time and money into learning a new trade. Thanks!

DEERSLAYER
Super Moderator

Re: Is it worth it?

Unread postby DEERSLAYER » Tue Dec 03, 2019 5:11 pm

Even though I don't do taxidermy I have looked into it in the past & watched several videos on doing it (deer heads) so I know about what materials cost. Considering my taxidermist raised his prices again this year ($500 because he is in demand) & may still be a little on the cheap side I would say it pays well. Most around here are probably making $30-$40 an hour (takes about 13 hours for most to do a head).
You cannot invade mainland America. There would be a rifle behind every blade of grass.
Isoroku Yamamoto, Japanese Admiral
Lockdown

Unread postby Lockdown » Tue Dec 03, 2019 5:46 pm

Following.

I’ve thought about getting into it as well, just to do my own. I just don’t have the time right now :violin:
Jackson Marsh

Unread postby Jackson Marsh » Tue Dec 03, 2019 6:03 pm

viewtopic.php?f=26&t=1281

Almost 10 years old, but has some good information.
DEERSLAYER
Super Moderator