Recovering from missing

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Boogieman1
500 Club

Recovering from missing

Unread postby Boogieman1 » Wed May 05, 2021 10:11 am

In case anyone was unaware when it comes to whiffing on whitetail I am a bit of an expert! In fact I missed a couple good bucks just this past season. Would guess I have missed well over 30 whitetails inside of 20 yards in my bowhunting life. Would assume that would qualify me to talk about screwing the pooch. Misses happen, they just do. Anyone who spends lots of time bow hunting has missed! It’s the nature of the sport. Just like there’s no fisherman who has not rared back to set the hook and only caught air.

Now there’s several types of misses...... Ones we should learn from and realize I probably shouldn’t have taken that shot. Then a class 2 miss involves clipping a branch or other hazard. These misses just happen and will always happen.

Class3 misses are generally caused from rushing, lack of focus, equipment malfunctions, or in some cases good ole buck fever.

Class 4 misses I categorize by taking the shot you hate. For me that’s 20’ up in a tree with a deer inside of 10 yards. I hate that shot! Sure I practice it, but I’m still not great at it. Hard for me to tell myself I need to let a deer walk that’s broadside inside of 10 yards.

No shame in missing!

Life is hard; It’s even harder if you are stupid.
-John Wayne-
Dewey

Re: Recovering from missing

Unread postby Dewey » Wed May 05, 2021 10:21 am

I’ll take 100 clear misses before one wounding shot. I’m actually quite relieved when an errant shot reveals itself to be a complete miss.