West Tennessee wma

This forum section is for the select few who believe in hard work and refuse to “Buy” success.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

SwampySquirrel

West Tennessee wma

Unread postby SwampySquirrel » Wed Aug 10, 2022 10:25 am

Just wondering if anyone hunts any cwd areas in west Tennessee?I have been hunting a particular wma for about 9 years now.The wma i hunt is not to far from where they think it started at.The deer numbers are definitely down but the quality I have seen in the last 2 to 3 years is awesome.I have a couple questions if anyone could help.

Tennhunter3
500 Club

Re: West Tennessee wma

Unread postby Tennhunter3 » Wed Aug 10, 2022 10:35 am

Ask away I've hunted pretty much all of them.

My experience hunting and scouting ,cams in these wmas is this if your interested.
Chickasaw state park is a ghost town I've ran cams in it for years every year I had 2 deer worth hunting on cam in it last year but it holds very little worth going after.

Wolf river -ghost river units far as im aware still have decent deer numbers I hunted it for several years until cwd. Their is some nice bucks in wolf and ghost river units. Saw a booner in wolf river a few years back. The area can produce very large bucks.

I've hunted some manes swamp refuge still has nice bucks ,hop in refuge is decent , Natchez Trace deer numbers decreasing. Lbl deer numbers decreasing.
Grey's creek deer numbers are way down or it may be lack of sign I've scouted it a few times.

I've played around a little in other wmas like camden,white oak , the one in dyer county ive scouted trying to remember the name of it. but never hunted them much.

I've seen some very promising bucks in obion wma and big sandy wma. Probably shouldn't type this but most on here know I hunt big sandy often.
Never give up Freedom for imagined safety.
Tennhunter3
500 Club

Unread postby Tennhunter3 » Wed Aug 10, 2022 10:55 am

John Tully wma was the other I was thinking of.
Bonecrusher101
500 Club